Maci Morris succeeds at life and basketball

Life With Lukas | by Lukas Witt | 11 years old

Do you know Maci Morris? Let me give you a sneak peek, Morris was named after Kentucky basketball great Kyle Macy and even wore his #4 during her career at Kentucky. Morris was born in Hazard, Kentucky and played high school basketball at Bell County where she joined the 3000 point club, was ranked nationally in the top 50 (espnW) and did I mention she was named Ms. Kentucky Basketball in 2015 before signing to play for Matthew Mitchell at the University of Kentucky. Her accomplishments continued when she got to Kentucky, she ranks 6th all-time in scoring with 1,692 points, 2nd in all-time 3-pointers made with 252 and ranks 1st in 3-point field goal percentage of 41.1%.

After finishing a 4 year career at the University of Kentucky in 2019 Morris signed a pro contract with USE Scotti Empoli to continue her basketball career in Italy. She was having a solid first season through 16 games and was averaging 31.6 mpg, shooting 40.4% from the 3, 5.5 ppg, 2.3 ast, and 4.9 reb.

Her first season was cut short due to the COVID-19 outbreak and headed back home after being under a quarantines lock-down in Italy. I got the chance to ask her a few questions about basketball and life, check out our Q&A below.

me and Maci at Memorial Coliseum and basketball camp

Me:    What do you miss most about college basketball?

Maci: I miss playing with some of my best friends and playing in front of BBN. There’s nothing like it.

Me:    How is playing internationally different from playing in America?

Maci: Playing internationally you don’t know your teammates as well. There can be a language barrier which can make it difficult to communicate with teammates and coaches. The game environment and fan attendance was not the same as UK. For my team we would play only one game a week instead of two/ sometimes 3 (speaking on college)

Me:    What basketball goals do you have for yourself and your career?

Maci: For me I just want to win wherever I’m at. I don’t have specific personal goals besides just to improve my game in different areas. I just want to win.

Me:    Who is been the most inspirational person in your life and why?

Maci: I would say my parents would be the most inspirational people in my life. Early on in my life they established certain characteristics in me that would help me succeed on and off the court. They were great examples of hard workers. My dad taught me almost everything about basketball and I would have never been where I am today without him.

Me:    Who was your favorite basketball player growing up?

Maci: My favorite basketball player growing up was Ray Allen

Me:    What has been the hardest part about moving to Italy?

Maci: The hardest part about moving to Italy was just leaving my family and friends. Not being able to see them for 7 months was tough. There was definitely some culture shock as well but I think just being so far away from your loved ones is the toughest part.

Me:    What do you hope to be doing after your basketball career?

Maci: I hope to either be coaching or going back to school to become a physician’s assistant. I’m just letting God direct my path.

Me:    What would you tell a younger player you wish you would have known?

Maci: Don’t let anyone still your joy and love for the game. Control what you can control. As long as you work hard and do what’s right, that’s all you can do. Don’t worry about what others aren’t doing.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s